With the Advanced edition and above, the option to share your folders or files with Guest Users becomes available.
Secure links provide direct access to any folder or file without requiring a Onehub account. This is useful in situations where you want to share with a large group of people and knowing who is viewing and/or downloading a file is not important.
Activity that occurs when someone is accessing a file or folder via a secure link will be attributed to a Guest User. The guest's IP address will be shown in the activity logs as well as Document Watermarks if they are enabled. Note, Onehub Support cannot determine who a user is based on their IP address.
Administrators and Moderators can enable and share secure links. Clicking the link icon to the right of a file or folder will automatically enable a Secure Link to that item. Next, you'll see a dialog where you can copy the link and change its settings. In the dialog, clicking the green Enabled status will toggle it off again. A link is no longer active or accessible by users when the status icon is red and says Disabled.
The link dialog provides one option for sharing. You can copy the link to paste it into your own email or post it on your website.
The Reset button immediately expires the link, regenerates the URL, and resets all of the settings back to default.
Additional settings are provided within the Secure Link settings. Click the gear in the bottom right to edit the link properties. This allows you to:
- Specify a password that will be required before the folder or file can be accessed.
- Choose to set an expiration date so the link will only be accessible for a limited period of time.
- Set the role that the guest will have when accessing the folder or file.
Changing the role allows you to do things like make the item read-only or allow guests to upload to a folder.